Windows Run Command is a Speedy Workflow Enhancer Remaining Unmatched since 1995.

I'm 'fluent' in all operating systems . . but the speed lies within the windows...

Windows Run Command is a Speedy Workflow Enhancer Remaining Unmatched since 1995.

Sure I love my Macbook. I insist on utilizing Linux (WSL) and always have loved the Mac environment. When it comes to my day time work (running a small business front to back single handedly, specifically e-commerce, marketing, and sales) when I need an answer, or someone else needs one - they'll need it fast and by fast I mean not reaching for a mouse. I personally could operate a windows machine without a mouse period, there isn't anything I HAVE to reach for a mouse for. I actually cant stand using a mouse and for productivity sake - there is minimal need too. With that said, if Windows had Alfred like Mac does - the speed would be second to none (Power Toys serves a similar purpose, but it falls a little short compared to the adaptability and versatility of Alfred) but that's for another post or review.

My reasons for saying Windows is the ultimate speed machine is because of the way it is set up - and compared to Mac specifically there is one big difference that exists in Windows that Apple fell short of - I mean the 'run' menu. Hold up. Before you guys beat me with your 'but spotlight' corrections... there are a lot of things the Windows run menu does that spotlight doesn't compare to - at least to my knowledge. Here, I'll walk you through the 4 top reasons I find Windows outperforming Mac/Linux in some of it's own customized adaptations we can call it - more so things I have learned I would not be able to live without and am very grateful Microsoft hasn't changed it. The Run command window was first introduced by Microsoft in Windows 95 and has been with us ever since. I utilize it not just daily, but hourly, but plenty of people don't realize its potential and usefulness yet. First of all let's get the basics out the way - how do you open the run menu ?? There are actually like 7 or more ways to open it but the most simple and quickest is holding the windows key (between alt and control usually) and pushing 'R'.

![run_window_1.webp](cdn.hashnode.com/res/hashnode/image/upload/.. align="middle")

Now that it's open - let's begin.

Hack 1) The Ability to open and directory, file, program, document in only a couple to few keystrokes.

The run menu is firstly, a direct link to your C:\Windows directory. When I discovered you could open the run menu and type 'notepad' or 'cmd' or 'mspaint' to open some basic programs, I wondered 'why those?'. This was during windows 95 of course so years ago, but the answer lied in the C:\Windows folder. If you navigate to your C:\Windows folder you will see after the directories a bunch of .exe files or shortcut files (there-in lies the power). You will see in mine, I have a lot of extra shortcuts - the red dots, red lines, and notice I circled the shortcut file types. Specifically if you take note of the names of the shortcuts in the screen shot:

![run-explorer.jpg](cdn.hashnode.com/res/hashnode/image/upload/.. align="middle")

I have taken the directories (and programs) I need to access when someone asks for a price or a stock check. Windows Key + R, typing 'pdf' or 'stock' respectively will open either of the directories. Then I'll type the first few letters of the brand in question and push enter and I'll immediately have open a spreadsheet or .pdf with the answer I need (a control+f and then typing the part number is the last bit) all the customers see is me pushing keys and screens flying open and out of no where I have the answer while most folks would have still been reaching for their mouse. It looks like your a computer wiz when it's actually very simplistic in nature. When I find a directory I want accessible I just right click, create shortcut (On Desktop). I rename it whatever 'command' I want to type in the run menu. Drop that file in C:\Windows and you will forever have it accessible with a few strokes of the keys.....

Not to argue with myself, but the reason I mentioned Albert and Mac in the beginning is because I have set albert up to literally index all of these documents and files and reports and can get the respective answer without ever pushing enter on Mac now - with that said, the argument is that Alfred is doing that, not the Mac operating system - it just so happens they haven't made it for windows... Mac doesn't have that natively and I'm kind of referencing the default operating systems here.. bare bones if you will. There's always an app or program to do something (and maybe better) at the end of the day I still do not find Spotlight to be as effective as the run menu. It will find what it thinks your looking for where as the run menu will display and open exactly what you have already set it up and told it to. Let's proceed.

Hack 2) Access the Specs and Resources of the Machine with Quickness

These hacks do assume your a quick typer I guess... I'm pushing 100wpm on my bad days so maybe taking that for granted. With that said, its amazing to push WIN KEY + R, then type 'msinfo32' and you've got in depth specs for the machine. As far as resources and such, 'resmon' will do that. Some argue 'well that's if you can remember those' but they didn't follow step one did they? Technically you can take both of those and make a shortcut out of them and name it what you want - heck you could open your system resources by typing 'poo' in the run menu if y ou want too. Don't do it though.... Legend has it that naming something 'poo' and running it direct will wipe your entire hard drive. Seriously . . . don't! ;>

Hack 3) Force Restart or Shutdown the Computer

I learned this years ago and never see it listed as a hack, feature, or way of doing this. It is essentially the command prompt way equivalent of Restarting or Shutting Down.

to restart or shutdown you use the 'shutdown' command either way. Then, respectively, use -r or -s to restart or shutdown.

I always include a -t 00 which says do it immediately. If you wanted to restart (or shutdown) you could also do -t 5 and shutdown in 5 seconds.

Here's how you would shutdown the computer immediately: WIN KEY + R opens run Type shutdown -s -t 00 and to restart: shutdown -r -t 00 and to hibernate: shutdown -h -t 00 and to log out shutdown -l -t 00

this goes way deep if you want to see all the capabilities you can read this article

Hack 4) Font Characters

I'm a resource junkie. Downloading assets, fonts, scripts, backgrounds, mockups, vectors, any and everything I can. Stocking my hard drive full. The number of fonts I truly have is a number I don't even know and is definitely a number I would never put in it's entirety on any machine. When I'm working on a design, finding a font isn't such a problem. On the flip side, what if you need to find a font (installed on your local machine) and you aren't designing yet...your not in software. Good example is for my terminal - finding a new font for a chrome extension - or in general finding fonts to use for something like notepad when I print a sign at work. All in all selecting one to view it is slow, and opening a program like adobe, or even Figma is an extra step that takes time - time is something we never get back. So I improvise... how? That handy Windows key + R!!

Type 'charmap'

Now you can flip through and see what your working with. Above that, if you want to see the 'Wingdings'' fonts - those were pre-emoji gold back in the day. Heck I used to use Wingdings for Icons (were talking pre-CSS days). Another advantage is seeing all the numpad shortcuts (for things like © (hold alt and push 0169). Lastly, you get the ASCII/Binary codes for any and every letter on top of exploring the foreign letters of other languages if needed so great for international character answers. Personally I've not needed it for that - I just love being able to see the font style and quick references.

Well that's that. I hope you picked up a little something. What's your favorite operating system for productive habits, custom workflows, automated tasks, or keyboard shortcuts? As a shortcut nerd/productivity geek, I would love to hear your set up, ways of working, let me in on a few tricks you know in the comments?!

This is my first blog post if you couldn't tell.... I've wrote tons, never published a single one. I finally decided this knowledge is worth publishing - I mean at least my customers think so when their eyes light up after I pull up a document in 2 seconds lying in a directory with not so much as one folder on my desktop. I know I go way off subject, way too deep probably, making this much longer than it had to be. Slimming it down to the bare bones essential stuff so folks can read this and get what they need and move on as there's a lot of content out there these days - if you made it this far, I'm sorry LOL but THANK YOU!!!